

International Advisory Board

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is a non-profit foundation established by the Federal Republic of Germany for the promotion of international research cooperation. It enables highly qualified scholars not resident in Germany to spend extended periods of research in Germany and promotes the ensuing academic contacts. The Humboldt Foundation promotes an active world-wide network of scholars. Individual sponsorship during periods spent in Germany and longstanding follow-up contacts have been hallmarks of the foundation's work since 1953.

The International Advisory Board of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is an international expert group which was established in 2007 as part of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation's bid for top-level quality also in its own procedures and strategy.

International Advisory Board Members

Chair

Daya Reddy

President, International Science Council (ISC)

Members

E. William Colglazier

Editor-in-chief, AAAS Science&Diplomacy

Wolf-Bernd Frommer

Alexander von Humboldt-Professor for Molecular Physiology

Graham Hutchings

Regius Professor of Chemistry, Cardiff University

Sabine Maasen

Professor of Sociology, University of Hamburg

Oluwatoyin Adepeju Odeku

Professor of Pharmacy, University of Ibadan

Faith H. A. Osier

Executive Director, International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI)

Robert Schlögl

President, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Tatiana Shchyttsova¹

Professor for Philosophy, European Humanities University

Kanako Takayama

Professor of Law, Kyoto University

The International Advisory Board supports the Foundation's strategic planning. As an institutionalized network of experienced leaders in the sciences and humanities, science policy and administration, the Board shares international

al al

1



perspectives and provides critical input on questions of strategic relevance for the Foundation, thereby contributing to ongoing discussions within the organization.

Contact:

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Department Strategy and External Relations Jean-Paul-Strasse 12 53173 Bonn Germany

Almut Caspary almut.caspary@avh.de Head of Division +49 (0)30-20455819

Johanna Seibert johanna.seibert@avh.de Program Director +49 (0) 228 833 458

